Dermeval da Hora - Presidente de ALFAL

Electo miembro del Comité Ejecutivo de CIPL


El Prof. Dermeval da Hora, Presidente de la ALFAL, participó en el Congreso Internacional de Lingüistas en Cape Towne (Sudáfrica) y fue elegido miembro del Comité Ejecutivo del Comité International Permanent des Linguistes - CIPL



ICL20, new Executive Committee and new Secretary-General


From the 2nd till the 6th of July 2018, the 20th ICL was held in Cape Town. The conference was very successful and offered a forum for many different strands of linguistics with a variety of topics ranging from morphology and phonology over syntax and semantics to pragmatics, sign languages, multilingualism, language policies and much more. There were quite a large number of interesting keynotes and focus lectures.


Following this conference, the General Assembly of CIPL was held and elections were organized to constitute a new Executive Committee.


David Bradley (Australia) was re-elected as president and Ik-Hwan Lee (Korea) as vice-president.


Frieda Steurs was elected to become the new Secretary-General of CIPL.

She is full professor at University of Leuven (Belgium) and the Director of the Dutch Language Institute in Leiden (the Netherlands).


The new Executive Committee consists further of:

Victoria Rau (Taiwan)

Eno-Abasi Urua (Nigeria)

Fritz Newmeyer (Canada)

Dermeval da Hora (Brazil)

Raj Mesthrie (South Africa)


Prof Piet van Sterkenburg, who served for 26 years as Secretary-General of CIPL was given the status of honorary Secretary-General.






Publicado: 27/9/18